DesignBuilder SBEM has been approved by the relevant national governments for use in all regions of UK and Republic of Ireland. This page explains which version of the software you should use in each region.

Region Regulations DB Version  SBEM Version 
England Part-L 2013 / EPCs  5.2.g
Wales Part-L 2014/ EPCs   5.2.g
England & Wales Part-L 2010  4.1.e
Scotland Section 6 2015/ EPC's  5.2.g
Scotland 2010 Section 6  4.1.e
Northern Ireland Pre-October 2012 Part-F  3.5.b
Northern Ireland Post-October 2012 Part-F / EPCs  4.1.e  
Republic of Ireland        Part-L 2007 / BER  3.5.b  


Please contact DesignBuilder Support for more information on which version to use for your projects.

Why are different versions of DesignBuilder required in different regions?

Building Regulations in the various regions are out of step with each other and so correspondingly different versions of SBEM have been required. DesignBuilder v4.7 supports SBEM 5.2.g, 5.2.d and 4.1.e which extends the use of one version of DesignBuilder to the majority of assessment types and regions. Note that only one version of DesignBuilder can be installed on a machine at any one time and while it is a quick and simple process to uninstall one version and install another, if you often work on projects not covered by the current release and find that you need to regularly uninstall and reinstall then you may wish to consider installing different versions of DesignBuilder on different machines to facilitate the process of moving from one region to another.

What about DesignBuilder DSM / Level 5 software?

The main elements of the DesignBuilder DSM (Level 5) software development are now complete. We have completed validation testing and have submitted the results to DCLG as the first stage of the approval process. Due to the inherent uncertainties of the approval process it isn’t possible to confirm timescales but we expect to gain approval by early 2017.