DesignBuilder Certification UK and RoI Approved Versions

DesignBuilder SBEM and DSM has been approved by the relevant national governments for use in the regions of UK and Republic of Ireland shown in the summary table below. Please ensure you use the correct version according to the location of the building you are certifying.


Approved DSM Versions

Region Regulations DB Version NCM Version 
England Part-L 2013 / EPCs  5.3a


Approved SBEM Versions

Region Regulations DB Version NCM Version
England Part-L 2013 / EPCs 5.3a
Wales Part-L 2014/ EPCs 5.3a
England & Wales Part-L 2010 4.1e
Scotland Section 6 2015/ EPC's 5.3a
Scotland 2010 Section 6 4.1e
Northern Ireland Pre-October 2012 Part-F* 3.5b
Northern Ireland Post-October 2012 Part-F / EPCs 4.1g
Republic of Ireland        Part-L 2007 / BER* 3.5b

Please contact DesignBuilder Support for more information on which version to use for your projects.

*Customers in ROI, NI should contact DesignBuilder Support to obtain an activation code for their approved version.


Why are different versions of DesignBuilder required in different regions?

Building Regulations in the various regions are out of step with each other and so correspondingly different versions of SBEM have been required. DesignBuilder v5.0.3 supports SBEM 5.3a and 4.1g which extends the use of one version of DesignBuilder to the majority of assessment types and regions. Note that only one version of DesignBuilder can be installed on a machine at any one time and while it is a quick and simple process to uninstall one version and install another, if you often work on projects not covered by the current release and find that you need to regularly uninstall and reinstall then you may wish to consider installing different versions of DesignBuilder on different machines to facilitate the process of moving from one region to another.


DesignBuilder DSM / Level 5 software?

DesignBuilder DSM is now approved for the certification of level 3, 4 and 5 buildings in England. We expect to be approved in the other UK countries in the near future. Many DesignBuilder users have been waiting for a long time for a DesignBuilder version suitable for Level 5 buildings, and we sincerely thank you for your patience.

The approved version is only initially available to those undertaking the DSM training and exam, as these are necessary to (1) understand how to use the software properly, and (2) fulfil the NOS requirements for assessors using DSM software.


Section 63 for Scotland

DesignBuilder developers have started work on a Section 63 module and we are aiming to release this early/mid 2018 after tests are complete.